Students in class

The PIE offers 7 levels of study to prepare students for undergraduate or graduate degree programs in the U.S. New students take a placement test on the first day of orientation to determine their level. 

Level 1 = General English 1

Level 2 = General English 2

Level 3 = General English 3

Level 4 = Academic English 1

Level 5 = Academic English 2

Level 6 = Advanced & Academic English 1

Level 7 = Advanced & Academic English 2

After passing Level 5, students meet English proficiency requirements for undergraduate (Bachelors) degree programs at IUPUI, Ivy Tech Community College, Bulter University, and Purdue University. After passing Level 7, students meet English proficiency requirements for graduate (Masters) degree programs at IUPUI and Purdue University.